6 Packing Essentials Every Traveler Should Own

One of the perks of being a frequent traveler is getting your packing routine down to a science. I have spent the past year traveling extensively and already have plans to do the same this year. Which means I will be spending a crazy amount of time living out of a suitcase this year and I will need it to be organized. Below are some of my favorite products for getting from point A to point B without any unnecessary hassle.

I hope you love the products I recommend! Just so you know, if you make a purchase through any of the links on this page part of the profit will go towards helping me continue to bring you high-quality content. 

Packing Cubes 

When I invested it my first set of packing cubes it seriously changed my life. In fact, when the first set arrived I opened them and then ordered a second set immediately. I love how you can keep everything clean and organized by type. Plus the best part is that they stack perfectly inside a standard suitcase giving you tons of extra room. I had originally held off on purchasing them because I was worried they wouldn’t be worth the initial investment. But there are plenty of affordable options out there that are more than worth checking out.

Luggage Scale 

screen-shot-2017-02-27-at-5-58-50-pm

One of the worst parts about flying is baggage fees. If you are flying on an airline without baggage fees your problems could be as simple as moving items from one bag to the other (although who wants to be playing Tetris at the luggage counter). Worst case scenario you could be faced with some hefty overage fees. My luggage scale has become my best friend not only because it allows me to make sure my checked bags aren’t overweight. But also because it lets me know how much more weight I can move from my carry-on bag into my checked luggage so I’m not carrying 50lbs on my back during a layover. There are plenty of luggage scales available however, this is the one I personally use.

Hanging Toiletry Bag

It is always important to have a waterproof toiletry bag. Especially if you are going on a longer trip where you will be checking luggage and plan to bring full sized products. Hanging toiletry bags are nice because they save counter space in tight accommodations, and they often have a double layer of waterproofing to help keep any product spills off of your clothing. If you are utilizing packing cubes it is nice to also get a toiletry bag that is shaped similar to your packing cubes to help save even more space inside your luggage.

TSA Approved Liquids Bag 

By now most of us know that there are some pretty strict rules on what liquids can and can’t go into your carry-on bag. However what I was surprised most people didn’t know, is that the ziplock bags you get from the grocery store are actually smaller than what TSA allows you to bring on the plane. While not a necessity for everyone, I would never travel without a reusable TSA-approved liquids bag, simply because for me it allows room for 2-3 extra products when traveling. Here is one option if you are looking for a little bit more room.

Identifiable Hard Sided Luggage 

Before you leave for the airport it is always a good idea to do something to make your luggage identifiable. In a pinch, it is totally doable to put some colorful tape around the handle or tie a ribbon to your suitcase. However in the long run tape and ribbon aren’t the greatest ways to keep your luggage looking nice, and are easily removed. Not only is identifiable luggage easier to find in baggage claim, it is also a lot less likely to be stolen (have you have noticed how many black bags you can find in an airport). I personally like to travel with a suitcase that is easy to spot from a distance such as this one. If you can afford the slight upcharge for hard sided luggage you will also be rewarded with added water resistance (always a plus when traveling in the winter or spring when bags tend to get wet sitting out on the tarmac).

If you are really looking to invest in your luggage, bags such as this one come equipped with a GPS tracking device, a remote locking mechanism, and a rechargeable battery to keep your electronics charged during long layovers. However, regardless of if you go for high-tech luggage or not, it is always a good idea to take a picture of your luggage before you check it, that way you if your luggage gets lost it is easier for you to describe it to the airline when you reach your destination.

Super Mobile Carry On

If you are flying it is a huge help to have a rolling carry-on with 4 spinning wheels. Not only can you turn it sideways for easier navigation down the tight aisles of the plane, but it will be easier to maneuver around the airport. Having spinning wheels will make all the difference when trying to cram all of your luggage into the bathroom stall, or squeeze onto a narrow escalator in a hurry.

Leave a Reply

